Monday, October 13, 2008

New Zealand in Bangladesh 2008

3rd ODI
This will be the 100th ODI match to be staged in Bangladesh since the first one exactly two decades ago and the occasion calls for something special. No point reminding the Tigers about it who arrived in the city of hillocks and ships on Sunday. They are still smarting from the defeat in the second game and are quietly hoping that things will work out for them in the same was as it did in the first match where they simply swept aside the Black Caps.
It is difficult to say whether Chittagong has the honour of starting seconds or minutes ahead of Dhaka on 27 October 1988. On that day Pakistan took on Sri Lanka at the Bangabandhu National Stadium while hosts Bangladesh battled India at the MA Aziz stadium here. Those were the first ODIs played in this country. Twenty years on the Tigers find themselves in a position they are not quite accustomed to. A win tomorrow would give the home side a series win and the chances for a change are almost even.
Bangladesh (12): Zunaed Siddique, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Naeem Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Vice Captain), Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Shahadat Hossain, Imrul Kayes

New Zealand (From): Jesse Ryder, Brendon McCullum (Wicketkeeper/Vice Captain), Jamie How, Ross Taylor, Daniel Flynn, Scott Styris, Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (Captain), Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Jeetan Patel, Mark Gillespie, Gareth Hopkins, Michael Mason, Grant Elliott.
Read more from BDnews24.(Bangla)

No comments: